Electoral slates are yet to be finalized


The filing of certificates of candidacy ended on October 8 but the electoral slates of major political parties are not yet final. During the last day of filing, Rodrigo Duterte’s clique made a mockery out of the process when Sen. Ronald de la Rosa filed his certificate of candidacy for president under PDP-Laban. Sen. de la Rosa himself admitted“ that he filed his certificate of candidacy because Sara Duterte has not yet announced her candidacy.

Based on the latest lineups, six candidates for president and five for vice president will run under the reactionary and conservative political parties. The tandems are as follows: Leni Robredo-Kiko Pangilinan for the Liberal Party, Isko Moreno-Willie Ong for Aksyon Demokratiko, Ping Lacson-Tito Sotto for Partido Reporma, Bato de la Rosa-Bong Go for PDP-Laban (Cusi faction), and Manny Pacquiao-Lito Atienza for Promdi. Ferdinand Marcos, Jr. of the Partido Federal ng Pilipinas, a party established by the Duterte clique, will run without a vice president.

Senatorial slates are also yet to be finalized. This October, the non-inclusion of Neri Colmenares of the Makabayan bloc in the senatorial slate of Robredo and Pangilinan became a burning issue. Instead, they included in their slate Senators Juan Miguel Zubiri, Joel Villanueva and Richard Gordon who were long supportive of Duterte.

Meanwhile, Pacquiao and Atienza included both Colmenares and Elmer Labog, leader of Kilusang Mayo Uno, in their senatorial slate. They were also endorsed by Lakas ng Masa who also filed their own candidates for president and vice president.

Electoral slates are yet to be finalized